Southern Connecticut State University Sustainable Southern

Climate Emergency Declaration

Southern Connecticut State University is a public university with a mission to foster social justice on campus and as part of a broader community. In response to recent student advocacy for stronger climate action, SCSU reaffirms its Climate Leadership Commitment and the We Are Still In Declaration and publicly recognizes climate change as a global emergency because of impacts on the environment and humankind.

Join us in signing the declaration by adding your name and Southern email below.

We base this emergency declaration on

  • The 2018 Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Special Report: Global Warming of 1.5C  and evidence therein that a clear disproportionate burden of climate change impacts the most vulnerable members of societies
  • Unprecedented acceleration of atmospheric carbon levels that as of May 2019 are measured at 415 parts per million
  • Local community, health, environmental, and economic risk associated with hotter summers, declining air quality, diminished biodiversity, extreme weather and changes in precipitation trends, sea level rise and acidification, drought, and other manifestations of climate change

Building upon a decade of participation in the Climate Leadership Commitment for colleges and universities, today, May 30, 2019, Southern Connecticut State University declares a climate emergency.

After a decade of prioritizing climate leadership, SCSU is proud of its longstanding commitment to climate action, including:

  • Installation of a 1MW solar array on the west side of campus, and the development of a further 1MW of solar power on the East Campus
  • LEED Gold certification for the Academic Science and Laboratory Building
  • A four-year contract to procure 100 percent Green-e certified electricity, 2018-22
  • Extensive energy efficiency and waste reduction throughout campus, including commercial-scale composting of food scrap
  • 2018 launch of an undergraduate major in Environmental Systems and Sustainability
  • Endowed interdisciplinary research on climate and coastal resilience at the Werth Center for Coastal and Marine Studies
  • Designing a new $48 million net-zero emissions School of Business building that will generate all of its energy and power needs through sustainable technologies

Through this emergency declaration, SCSU also recognizes the need to accelerate both pace and scale of our efforts, and a need for more unified and collective action to address the climate crisis. SCSU pledges to:

  1. Maintain our commitment to become carbon neutral and accelerate outcomes of the Climate Leadership Commitment and We Are Still in Declaration
  2. Expand research to advance climate action and resilience as part of a broader community
  3. Align SCSU climate action with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals
  4. Expand university partnerships with business and industry; local, state, and federal agencies; community organizations; and other institutions of higher education to advance climate and sustainability goals
  5. Expand collaboration with local and regional communities to enhance resilience from climate impacts
  6. Galvanize inclusive, equitable participation in climate action across all sectors of the SCSU community, and allow citizen assemblies to support the direction of our climate actions
  7. Expand and participate in open-source platforms and networks that support rapid interdisciplinary innovation to meet challenges of the changing climate
  8. Create and maintain a roadmap projecting where and how the campus becomes carbon neutral

234 have signed

Sign the Declaration only

Climate Commitment


Community members preferring anonymity are listed as "Supporter".

President Joe Bertolino
Dr. Robert Prezant, Provost
Elizabeth Carlino
Josephine Lynch
Vittoria Cristante
Patrick Heidkamp
Betsy Beacom
Mary Pat Caputo
Marylou Conley
Jason Edwards
Villia Struyk
Barbara Kagan
Suzanne Huminski
Miranda Kross
Steven Zocher
Michaela Garland
Alycia Santilli
Heidi Nicolson
Laura Abreu
Victoria Zigmont
Lauren Brideau
Brooke Mercaldi
Peter Ott
Madeline Lynch
Danielle Ott
Ashley Barry
Latasha Neal
Alexis Zhitomi
Kelly Redmond
Matthew Torrisi
Jherri Garcia
Marissa Thomas
Valen Grandelski
Elisabeth Ott
Elena Acevedo
Suzanne Huhn
Michele Vancour
Ian Bergemann
Stephen Axon
Ethan Rankowitz
Lauren Oken
Jaclyn Y
Dayana Hernandez
Julian Saria
Donald Neznek
Emma Cross
Emily Pall
Laura Sorensen
Marie McDaniel
Lilly Partridge
Brittany Bard
Annie Ricupero
Rachel Martineau
Rebekah Burke
Christianne Accurso
Norman Whitney
Irene Machia
Jessica King
Derek Faulkner
Abdul Osmanu
Treqwon Mack
Izzy Manzo
Matthew Lopes
James Tait
Taryn White
Paul Glynn
Caitlyn Koster
edith plancartese1
Suzanne Solensky
Cassandra Paolillo
Malik Hamblin
Aneysha Robles
Matthew Toledo
Andrey Bastos de Carva
Jesse Davidson
Brianna Craft
Ellie Craft
Thomas Healy
Lorenzo Burgos
Elaina disalvo
Naji Middleton
Matt Urquia
Xavier Stephens
Liz Heikkinen
Tess Mcintosh
Jenna Salters
Kelly Jagodzinski
Ramon Tiongco
Lena Connelly
Wilson Valois
Noah Ramos
Carla Alexander
Neisha Rivera
Amanda Valentin
Lupita Barajas
Gabriel Misluk
Roland Regos
Abaigheal Cassella
Ariana Lopez
Sydney French
Nathan Endresz
Matthew Collins
Robert Spears
Josh Cam
Emily Thompson
Harriet Frost
Jian Chan
Fatima Cecunjanin
simon mcintyre
Jacob Tellier
Amber Belval
garrett cyr
jessica clark
Jalitza Mathews
Nicole Waibel
gabriela vazquez
Patrick Ballard
Jayson DeFrance
Valerye Quintana
Anthony Deas
Uruj Khan
Morgan Chase
Ronahi Musa
Bayleigh Takacs
Chloe Lecy
Renae Musco
Precious Bynum
Palak Patel
Makenna Perry
Jace Nhean
Amanda Murray
Jane Sherman
Jonah Morring
Maddy Leclair
Mia Pulisciano
Sara Meza
Laura Morton
Sabrina Alvarez
Syrenitee Kee
Kelly Mjos
Kayla Kelley
Jillian Valeta
Sousan Arafeh
Rachel Furey
McKenzie McDermott
Harold Rice
Scott Ellis
Spencer Brunet
Scott Moore
Samantha Salisbury
Jennifer Salisbury
Victoria Conlon
Sarah Cooney
Giana Cardonita
Sarah LeMere
Marie Kane
Jared Valdez
Katie Buckeit
Connor Redahan
Colleen Bielitz
Christine Broadbridge
Jenna Guluzy
Erin Heidkamp
Vanessa Heigel
Nicole Foertsch
Liz Wolf
Jeremy Grant
Angela Broadway
Bria Fielding
Suhanee Patel
Abigail Ashbey
Candy Hwang
Zheni Wang
Marcello Graziano
Alice Wieland
Jane DeLuca
Robert Forbus
Dr Frank Bevvino
Gregory Robbins
Alison Wall
Kauther Badr
Charlie Yang
Samuel Andoh
Gene Birz
Amy Grotzke
Alev Yildirim
Sandip Dutta
Renee Knight
Juliana Zaccagnino
Brooke Isaacson
Sydney Peacock
Sydney King
Bria Anderson
Alyssa Couture
Amanda Bertana
Kate Chamberland
Daniel Perusina
Abigail Lucas
Sara Gerckens
Annabel Chavez
Danielle Jacovino
Brianna Green