Southern Connecticut State University Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes September 7, 2011

http://www.scsu.ctstateu.edu/organizations/facultysenate

The first meeting of the 2011-2012 was called to order at 12:10 pm.

Attendance (Absent members are designated in **bold**)

Emmanuel	Michelle	Matthew	Sue Clerc		Susan
Emenyonu	Lawler	Rothbard	(Library	(Part-Time Faculty)	Cusato
(Accounting)	(Counseling)	(Exercise	Services)		(President)
_		Science)			
Valerie	Uchenna	Susan Calahan	Charlie Yang		Heather
Andrushko	Nwachuku	(Exercise	(Management)	(Part-Time	Pizzanello
(Anthropology)	(Couns/Sch	Science)		Faculty)	(Social
	Psych)				Work)
Jeff Slomba	Tom Fleming	Resha	Mel Prince		Dana
(Art)	(Earth	Cardone	(Marketing)	(Part-Time	Schneider
	Science)	(WLL/Foreign		Faculty)	(Social
		Language)			Work)
Terrence Lavin	James Thorson	Lisa Vitale	John	David Pettigrew	Jon Bloch
(Art)	(Econ/Finance)	(WLL/Foreign	Scheuermann	(Philosophy)	(Sociology)
		Language)	(Mathematics)		
Lauren	Maria	Patrick	Cynthia	Jim Dolan (Physics)	Patricia
Tamborino	Diamantis	Heidkamp	Gubitose		Major
(Athletics)	(Education)	(Geography)	(Mathematics)		(Special
					Ed/Reading)
Jane Feng	Beena Achhpal	Troy Paddock	Wes O'Brien	Kevin Buterbaugh	Ruth Eren
(Biology)	(Education)	(History)	(Media	(Political Science)	(Special
			Studies)		Ed/Reading)
Adiel Coca	Peter Madonia	Ginny	Terese	Gayle Bessenoff	Kaia Monroe
(Chemistry)	(Ed	Metaxas	Gemme	(Psychology)	(Theatre)
	Leadership)	(History)	(Music)		
Annette	Judy Tarbox	Jerry Dunklee	Leslie Neal-	Cheryl Durwin	Martin
Madlock-Gatison	(English)	(Journalism)	Boylan	(Psychology)	Hartog
(Communication)			(Nursing)		(UCF)
Deb Weiss	Mike Shea	Elsie Okobi	Barbara	William Faraclas	James
(Com Disorders)	(English)	(Library	Aronson	(Public Health)	Thorson
		Science)	(Nursing)		(Grad
			_		Council)
Herv Podnar	Paul Petrie	Rebecca	(Part-Time	Jan Jones	
(Computer	(English)	Hedreen	Faculty)	(Recreation/Leisure)	
Science)		(Library			
		Science)			

Minutes:

- 1. Special Senate Meeting Minutes of May 11, 2011 -- approved unanimously
- 2. Senate Meeting Minutes of May 4, 2011 -- approved unanimously
- 3. Special Senate Meeting Minutes of April 27, 2011 -- approved unanimously

President Cusato welcomes all Senators! New members and veteran members: Welcome! She asked that everyone introduces themselves and states which department each senator represents. President Cusato continued with a brief orientation to the Senate and Senate Protocols. She also explained the responsibilities of each subcommittee so that all senators can make a decision of which committee to serve. She asked that each committee elects a chairperson and the chairpersons need to record all senators so that Secretary Diamantis can publish the committees' membership. But before the committees' work, President Cusato distributed the President's Report and answered some questions.

President's Report

President Cusato asked that all senators hold a moment of silence for our colleagues Chuck Reinhardt (Exercise Science and former Senate president), Nancy Marano (Education), and Michael Perlin (Public Health). Three faculty members that will be missed for their dedication and hard work at SCSU that spanned over many years. We will miss them!

University Dialogues - will be announced soon.

Breakfast meetings with President - will be announced soon.

President's search; the question was asked on who will be the responsible person for this appointment - we don't know yet.

A question on the resolutions that were not approved: what is the contract language on the approval time; and does the contract require an explanation/ reasons for the disapproval. The two resolutions that were not approved:

- 1. Revisions on the Senate P & T document to be in line with CBA. The contract language is not clear on the President's position and the case is currently being discussed.
- 2. Policy on Academic Misconduct this resolution is also being discussed. Many senators expressed concern that this resolution was not approved and questioned of what will happen next.

Handout was distributed on Fall 2011 Registration Statistics - President Cusato highlighted couple issues.

FT Underg: 5262 (2010: 5307) New Freshment: 1315 (2010: 1247)

Total FT Undergrads: 7486 (2010: 7470)

PT Underg: 1221 (2010: 1278)

FT Grad: 905 (2010: 978)

PT Grad: 1878 (2010: 2167)

Some discussion occurred on issues, such as the decrease of graduate students and possible reasons. Many senators felt that the increase of the admissions gpa to 3.0 has hurt the enrollment. Even if departments allow lower gpa than 3.0, candidates don't bother applying as they see the limit and don't pursue further. The suggestion was this is discussed at the next graduate council meeting.

It was mentioned that there were 400 undergraduate students who dropped out of SCSU last year, who had completed 90 or more credits, thus, didn't received their BS degree. This will be examined further to find out what were the reasons.

At this time, President Cusato asked that the senators meet with the committees for 15 minutes so that each committee elects their chairperson and discuss their goals for the year.

Standing Committee Meetings and Election of Chairs

Introduction of Chairs and members:

- Academic Policy Chair: Jon Bloch; Members: Petrie, Aronson, Heidkamp,
 Slomba, Achhpal, Weiss, Fleming, Metaxas, Pizzanello
- Elections Chair: Matt Rothbard; Members: Lawler, Cardone, Vitale, Neal-Boylan,
- Finance Chair: Cindy Gubitose; Members: Emenyonu, Madlock-Gatison,
 Thorson, Prince
- Personnel Policy Chair: Gayle Bessenoff; Members: Lavin, Weinbaum,
 Nwachuku, Shea, Clerc, Gemme, Buterbaugh, Schneider
- Rules Chair: Wes O'Brien; Members: Coca, Calahan, Paddock, Major
- Student Policy Chair: Peter Madonia; Members: Andrushko, Frassinelli,
 Dunklee, Okobi, Durwin, Faraclas, Eren
- Technology Chair: Judy Tarbox; Members: Podnar, Hedreen, Yang,
 Scheuermann, Dolan, Jones, Pizzanello

Secretary Diamantis reminded all chairs of the committees to submit to her the list of members for their committee.

OLD BUSINESS:

- Academic Policy Committee documents
 - 1. Proposed Grade Appeal document Jon introduced the resolution and discussed the changes. Some questions were addressed. A suggestion that the form for the appeal should be available to students electronically at the Student Handbook part of the web site.

There was a lengthy discussion on the goal of this resolution and its purpose to promote fairness of grading. In addition, concerns were raised about who decides on the new grade and what will that be. Since this discussion was lengthy, there was no action taken.

Motion to adjourn at 2:00

Respectfully submitted, Dr. Maria Diamantis Faculty Senate Secretary