# FACULTY SENATE

# Approved Minutes of November 15, 2017

# https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2017-2018.html

The 6<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Faculty Senate AY 2017-2018 was held on November 15, 2017, at 12:11 p.m. in the Seminar Room of Connecticut Hall.

Members Present/Absent (absent members are designated in bold)

Wafeek	Natalie Starling	Robert Gregory	Len Brin	David Pettigrew	Angela Lopez-
Abdelsayed (Accounting)	(Couns/Sch Psych)	(Exercise Science)	(Mathematics)	(Philosophy)	Velasquez (Special Ed/Reading)
Kenneth McGill (Anthropology)	Mike Knell (Earth Science)	Tom Radice (History)	Klay Kruczek (Mathematics)	Todd Schwendemann (Physics)	Laura Raynolds (Special Ed/Reading)
Greg Cochenet (Art)	Sanja Grubacic (Econ/Finance)	Stephen Amerman (History)	Wes O'Brien (Media Studies)	Jon Wharton (Political Science)	Larry Nye (Theatre)
Lisa Barbaro (Athletics)	Jessica Powell (Curriculum & Learning)	Yan Liu (Information & Library Science)	Jonathan Irving (Music)	Michael Nizhnikov (Psychology)	Luke Eilderts (Secretary/World Languages & Literatures)
Sarah Crawford (Biology)	Peter Madonia (Ed Leadership)	Jerry Dunklee (Journalism)	Maria Krol (Nursing)	Christopher Budnick (Psychology)	
James Kearns (Chemistry)	Joel Dodson (English)	Parker Fruehan (Library Services)	Antoinette Towle (Nursing)	William Faraclas (Public Health)	Deborah Weiss (UCF)
Derek Taylor (Communication)	Mike Shea (English)	Kari Swanson (Library Services)	Mark Dobbins (Part-time Faculty)	Michael Dodge (Recreation/ Leisure)	William Faraclas (Faculty Senate Past President)
Deborah Weiss (Com Disorders)	Elizabeth Kalbfleisch (English)	Mina Park (Management/ MIS)	Eric Hoffman (Part-Time Faculty)	Jemel Aguilar (Social Work)	Elizabeth Rhoades (Grad Council)
Mohammad T. Islam (Computer Science)	James Tait (Environment, Geography & Marine Studies)	Greg Robbins (Management/ MIS)	Mary Ellen Minichiello (Part- Time Faculty)	Stephen Monroe Tomczak (Social Work)	Mia Forgione (Student)
Michelle Lawler (Counseling)	Peter Latchman (Exercise Science)	Shyam Lodha (Marketing)	Walter Stutzmann (Part-Time Faculty)	Greg Adams (Sociology)	Dr. Joe Bertolino, SCSU President
Guests: Ilene Crawford (AVP, Academic Affairs) Craig Hlavac (A&S)					

### **Minutes of Previous Meeting**

Minutes of the previous meeting held on November 1, 2017, were accepted as distributed. https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2016-2017.html

#### Announcements

- Senator Stuzman (PT): A new version of BannerWeb will be implemented on campus. Outages are expected, and an email will be sent out to the campus community with more information. IT is also planning a university-wide texting policy that would include an "opt-in" to receive notifications and reminders.
- Senator Powell (C&L): Reminder about Social Justice Month and the luncheon that will be held on Friday at 12:30 for interested faculty.
- Senator Pettigrew (PHI): Reminder that the sealing of the P&T files will take place on December 14<sup>th</sup> and 15<sup>th</sup> from 10-2 in Buley Library room 346.

### President's Report

https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/senatepresidentreports/2017-2018.html

### **Standing Committee Reports**

President Diamantis asked Senators if they objected to moving directly to the Rules Committee review of the bylaws. Hearing none, Senator O'Brien (MDS) took the floor.

- Rules: Senator O'Brien lead a discussion concerning revisions to the bylaws.
- Finance: Senator Grubacic (ECO & FIN): Full time AAUP \$229,415; Part Time AAUP: \$19,334; Creative Activity: \$1232.

Quorum lost at 1:47pm	
Luke Eilderts	
Secretary	