FACULTY SENATE

Approved Minutes of August 29, 2018

https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2018-2019.html

The 1st meeting of the Faculty Senate AY 2018-2019 was held on August 29, 2018, at 12:12 p.m. in the Seminar Room of Connecticut Hall.

Members Present/Absent (absent members are designated in **bold**)

Wafeek	Natalie Starling (Couns/Sch	Robert Gregory (Exercise	Joe Fields	David Pettigrew	Angela Lopez- Velasquez
Abdelsayed (Accounting)	Psych)	Science)	(Mathematics)	(Philosophy)	(Special Ed/Reading)
Kenneth McGill (Anthropology)	Mike Knell (Earth Science)	Tom Radice (History)	Alain D'Amour (Mathematics)	L. Evan Finch (Physics)	Laura Raynolds (Special Ed/Reading)
Greg Cochenet (Art)	Sanja Grubacic (Econ/Finance)	Stephen Amerman (History)	(Media Studies)	Jon Wharton (Political Science)	Larry Nye (Theatre)
Lisa Barbaro (Athletics)	Beena Achhpal (Curriculum & Learning)	Yan Liu (Information & Library Science)	(Music)	Michael Nizhnikov (Psychology)	Luke Eilderts (Secretary/World Languages & Literatures)
Sarah Crawford (Biology)	Peter Madonia (Ed Leadership)	Jerry Dunklee (Journalism)	Francine Penny (Nursing)	Katherine Marsland (Psychology)	
James Kearns (Chemistry)		Parker Fruehan (Library Services)	Lisa Rebeschi (Nursing)	William Faraclas (Public Health)	Cindy Simoneau (UCF)
Derek Taylor (Communication)	Mike Shea (English)	Kari Swanson (Library Services)	Obiageli Okwuka (Part-time Faculty)	Michael Dodge (Recreation/ Leisure)	William Faraclas (Faculty Senate Past President)
Deborah Weiss (Com Disorders)	Elizabeth Kalbfleisch (English)	Mina Park (Management/ MIS)	Eric Hoffman (Part-Time Faculty)	(Social Work)	(Grad Council)
Mohammad T. Islam (Computer Science)	Scott Graves (Environment, Geography & Marine Studies)	Greg Robbins (Management/ MIS)	Mary Ellen Minichiello (Part- Time Faculty)	Stephen Monroe Tomczak (Social Work)	Mia Forgione (Student)
Matthew Ouimet (Counseling)	Peter Latchman (Exercise Science)	Shyam Lodha (Marketing)	Walter Stutzmann (Part-Time Faculty)	Greg Adams (Sociology)	Dr. Joe Bertolino, SCSU President
Guests: Ilene Crawford (Academic Affairs) Bob Prezant (Provost)					

I. Minutes of Previous Meeting

https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2017-2018.html

- May 2, 2018
 - o Approved as revised.

II. Welcome and introductions.

• President Diamantis welcomed the senators to academic year 2018-2019.

III. Guests.

a. President J. Bertolino:

- Thanked the President of the Faculty Senate and the Executive Committee.
- Reported that he was on his way to Gateway Community College to meet with Congresswoman R. DeLauro (CT) and Congressman P. Tonko (NY) regarding the joint program in Utilities Management between GCC and SCSU. This program was a request of the Regional Water Authority. SCSU has received \$100,000 per year from the Regional Water Authority for several years.
- Reported that there are 1,545 freshman this year and over 700 transfer students. He stated that his State of the University address will be held on September 18. Between now and then he would like to return to the Faculty Senate at another time to share more details but mentioned the following themes: continuous struggle with graduate education and issues with retention.
- Reminded the Faculty Senate that this year is Southern Connecticut State University's 125th anniversary.
- Introduced K. Jervis from University of Rhode Island School of Business, the ACE Fellow for this academic year.

b. Provost R. Prezant:

Reported that incentives were provided to students who qualified for graduate programs.
 Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs I. Crawford stated that information about the incentives was sent to faculty. Senator Faraclas (PCH) clarified that sending information is informing, not seeking input.

IV. President's Report

- President Diamantis asked Senators to read the information found in the President's Report.
- Senator Shea (ENG) asked whether travel funds will be August 31, 2018 to August 31, 2019 this year. Provost Prezant stated that although he believes the pattern is inappropriate we will follow the same pattern as last year, August 31 to August 31. Provost Prezant.
- Senator Dunklee (JRN) inquired about the Registry Agency. Provost Prezant responded that it is a "corral of seasoned, but retired individuals" who have come out of the academy but are still interested in pursuing and using their administrative skills to help other institutions.
- Senator Weiss (CMD) inquired about the position of Executive Director of Research and Innovation and whether this (a) was an opportunity that went out to all faculty for

application, (b) is this the existing or new position and (c) to whom this position reports to. Provost Prezant stated that this position is new, reports to the Provost and that he appointed the current faculty.

V. Standing Committees Organization and Election of Chairs

Standing committee formation

President Diamantis invited previous standing committee chairs to present the work of their committees. Afterwards, Senators chose their standing committee.

The elected chairs of the standing committees for AY 2018-2019 are as follows:

- Academic Policy: Senator Pettigrew (PHI).
- Elections: Senator Swanson (Library Services)
- Finance: Senator Abdelsayed (ACT)
- Personnel Policy: Senators Shea (ENG) and Tomczak (SWK)
- Rules: Senator Gregory (EXS)
- Student Policy: Senator Nizhnikov (PSY)
- Technology: Senators Stuzman (PT) and Fruhan (Library Services)

VI. Reports of Special Committees

- a. UCF—No Report
- b. Graduate Council—No Report
- c. FASP/USPaRC—No Report

VII. New Business

Senators discussed faculty administrative positions.

Senators discussed the transition to a full year academic schedule.

X. Adjournment

• Adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Executive Committee Meeting: Ten minutes following adjournment

Fall 2018 meetings: September 12, September 26, October 10, October 24, November 7,

November 28, December 5.

Spring 2019 meetings: January 23, February 6, February 20, March 6, March 27,

April 10, April 24, May 8.

Kari Swanson Secretary