Unapproved Minutes of May 3, 2017

http://southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2016-2017.html

The 14th meeting of the Faculty Senate AY 2016-2017 was held on May 3, 2017, at 12:12 pm in the Seminar Room of Connecticut Hall.

Members Present/Absent (absent members are designated in **bold**)

Wafeek Abdelsayed (Accounting)	Uchenna Nwachuku (Couns/Sch Psych)	Robert Gregory (Exercise Science)	Klay Kruczek (Mathematics)	David Pettigrew (Philosophy)	Ron Tamura (Special Ed/Reading)
Kenneth McGill (Anthropology)	Mike Knell (Earth Science)	Tom Radice (History)	Joe Fields (Mathematics)	Todd Schwendemann (Physics)	Judith Tepstra (Special Ed/Reading)
Greg Cochenet (Art)	(Econ/Finance)	Stephen Amerman (History)	Wes O'Brien (Media Studies)	Jon Wharton (Political Science)	Larry Nye (Theatre)
Lisa Barbaro (Athletics)	Beena Achhpal (Curriculum & Learning)	Yan Liu (Information & Library Science)	Jonathan Irving (Music)	Michael Nizhnikov (Psychology)	
Sarah Crawford (Biology)	Peter Madonia (Ed Leadership)	Cindy Simoneau (Journalism)	Maria Krol (Nursing)	Katherine Marsland (Psychology)	Luke Eilderts (Secretary/World Languages & Literatures)
James Kearns (Chemistry)	Joel Dodson (English)	Diane Tomasko (Library Services)	Antoinette Towle (Nursing)	William Faraclas (Public Health)	Deborah Weiss (UCF)
Anette Madlock Gatison (Communicatio n)	Mike Shea (English)	Kari Swanson (Library Services)	(Part-time Faculty)	Michael Dodge (Recreation/ Leisure)	William Faraclas (Faculty Senate Past President)
Deborah Weiss (Com Disorders)	Scott Ellis (English)	Mina Park (Management/ MIS)	Robin Esposito (Part-Time Faculty)	(Social Work)	Elizabeth Rhoades (Grad Council)
Md Shafaeat Hossain/ Amal Abd El- Raouf (Computer Science)	Scott Graves (Environment, Geography & Marine Studies)	Greg Robbins (Management/ MIS)	Obiageli Okwuka (Part- Time Faculty)	Stephen Monroe Tomczak (Social Work)	(Student)
Michelle Lawler (Counseling)	Peter Latchman (Exercise Science)	Shyam Lodha (Marketing)	Walter Stutzmann (Part-Time Faculty)	Greg Adams (Sociology)	Dr. Joe Bertolino, SCSU President
<u>Guests:</u> Sandy Bullmer, Dean HHS	Brian Johnson, ENG				

Elections

Senator Kruczek (MAT), chair of the Elections committee, presided over the elections.

- Faculty Senate President
 - Senator O'Brien (MDS) nominated President Diamantis for a second term as President of the Faculty Senate for AY 2017-2018. President Diamantis accepted the nomination.
 - Hearing no further nominations, nominations were closed. Secretary Eilderts cast one vote for the nominee.
 - o President Diamantis was elected for a second term.
- Faculty Senate Treasurer
 - A motion was made, seconded, and approved to table the election for Faculty Senate Treasurer until Senator Abdelsayed's (ACT) arrival.

Minutes of Previous Meeting

Minutes of the previous meeting held on April 26, 2017, were approved as distributed. http://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2016-2017.html

Announcements

- Senator O'Brien (MDS): Southern student Lisa Tedesco will screen her short film *August in the City* at the Cannes Film Festival. <u>https://news.southernct.edu/2017/05/02/from-southern-to-cannes/</u>.
- Senator Pettigrew (PHI): Congratulations to all the faculty who received awards this academic year.
- Senator Shea (ENG): Wishes to thank President Diamantis for her leadership this year.

President's Report

http://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/senatepresidentreports/2016-2017.html

• President Diamantis drew Senators' attention to item 4 on the list.

Standing Committee Reports

- Personnel Policy
 - Senators Shea (ENG) and Tomczak (SWK) moved to accept the "Resolution Regarding Revision of Language in The Promotion And Tenure And Renewal Documents Regarding Non-Substantive, Mechanical Changes." Motion passed unanimously.
 - <u>https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/resolutionsbydate.html</u>
 - Senators Shea (ENG) and Tomczak (SWK) moved to accept the "Resolution Regarding Revision of Language in The Promotion And Tenure And Renewal Documents Regarding Substantive Issues." After discussion, motion approved.
 - <u>https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/resolutionsbydate.html</u>
 - Senator Shea (ENG) moved to "Authorize the Faculty Senate Executive committee, using its collective judgement, to work with the Administration and capture the intent of these resolutions so that they can work for all parties this coming year." Motion approved.
 - Senators Shea (ENG) and Tomczak (SWK) moved to accept "Resolution Addressing the Promotion and Tenure Recusal Issue." After much debate, the motion failed.

With Senator Abdelsayed's arrival, the Senate took up the election of Faculty Senate Treasurer for AY 2017-2018.

Elections

Senator Kruczek (MAT), chair of the Elections committee, presided over the election.

- Faculty Senate Treasurer
 - Senator Simoneau (JRN): Nominated Senator Abdelsayed (ACC), who accepted the nomination.
 - Hearing no further nominations, nominations were closed. Secretary Eilderts cast one ballot in favor of Senator Abdelsayed.
 - Senator Wafeek Abdelsayed will serve as Faculty Senate Treasuerer for AY 2017-2018.

Standing Committee Reports

- Finance: Senator Abdelsayed (ACC) moved to accept the resolution "Travel Funds AY 2017-2018). After debate, motion approved unanimously.
 https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/resolutionsbydate.html
- Technology: Senator Stutzman (PT): Provided summary of the Technology survey.

Senator Faraclas (PCH) moved to change the order of business and bring New Business before the Senate. Motion seconded and approved.

New Business

- Senator Cochenet (ART): After a brief introduction, moved to accept the resolution in support of the Art Gallery as distributed. After debate, Senator Faraclas (PCH) called the previous question. Motion seconded and approved. Motion in support of the Buley Art Gallery was approved unanimously.
 - o <u>https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/resolutionsbydate.html</u>
- Senators took up the Executive Committee Statement on "Strategies for Students First." After minor revisions, the motion was approved.
 - o <u>https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/resolutionsbydate.html</u>

With the loss of quorum, the meeting was adjourned at 1:52 pm.

Luke Eilderts Secretary