Unapproved Minutes of January 24, 2018

https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2017-2018.html

The 8th meeting of the Faculty Senate AY 2017-2018 was held on January 24, 2018, at 12:10 p.m. in the Seminar Room of Connecticut Hall.

Members Present/Absent (absent members are designated in **bold**)

Wafeek Abdelsayed (Accounting)	Natalie Starling (Couns/Sch Psych)	Robert Gregory (Exercise Science)	Len Brin (Mathematics)	David Pettigrew (Philosophy)	Angela Lopez- Velasquez (Special Ed/Reading)
Kenneth McGill (Anthropology)	Mike Knell (Earth Science)	Tom Radice (History)	Klay Kruczek (Mathematics)	Todd Schwendemann (Physics)	Laura Raynolds (Special Ed/Reading)
Greg Cochenet (Art)	Sanja Grubacic (Econ/Finance)	Stephen Amerman (History)	Wes O'Brien (Media Studies)	Jon Wharton (Political Science)	Larry Nye (Theatre)
Lisa Barbaro (Athletics)	Beena Achhpal (Curriculum & Learning)	Yan Liu (Information & Library Science)	Jonathan Irving (Music)	Michael Nizhnikov (Psychology)	Luke Eilderts (Secretary/World Languages & Literatures)
Sarah Crawford (Biology)	Peter Madonia (Ed Leadership)	Jerry Dunklee (Journalism)	Maria Krol (Nursing)	Christopher Budnick (Psychology)	
James Kearns (Chemistry)	Joel Dodson (English)	Parker Fruehan (Library Services)	Antoinette Towle (Nursing)	William Faraclas (Public Health)	Deborah Weiss (UCF)
Derek Taylor (Communication)	Mike Shea (English)	Kari Swanson (Library Services)	(Part-time Faculty)	Michael Dodge (Recreation/ Leisure)	William Faraclas (Faculty Senate Past President)
Deborah Weiss (Com Disorders)	Elizabeth Kalbfleisch (English)	Mina Park (Management/ MIS)	Eric Hoffman (Part-Time Faculty)	Jemel Aguilar (Social Work)	Elizabeth Rhoades (Grad Council)
Mohammad T. Islam (Computer Science)	Scott Graves (Environment, Geography & Marine Studies)	Greg Robbins (Management/ MIS)	Mary Ellen Minichiello (Part- Time Faculty)	Stephen Monroe Tomczak (Social Work)	Becky Kuzmich (Student)
Matthew Ouimet (Counseling)	Peter Latchman (Exercise Science)	Shyam Lodha (Marketing)	Walter Stutzmann (Part-Time Faculty)	Greg Adams (Sociology)	Dr. Joe Bertolino, SCSU President
<u>Guests:</u> Bob Prezant (Provost) Craig Hlavac (Assoc. Dean, A&S)	Tracy Tyree (VP Student Affairs) Jules Tetreault (AVP Student Affairs)				

I. Minutes of Previous Meeting https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/mins/2016-2017.html

January 24, 2018
Accepted as distributed.

II. Announcements

• S. Tomczak: AAUP Thrive even January 31, 2018, from 10-noon in Engleman B121

III. President's Report: M. Diamantis https://www.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-senate/senatepresidentreports/2017-2018.html

III. Guests

- SCSU President Joe Bertolino
 - Many good things are happening on campus.
 - We face many financial challenges.
 - o Enrollment management and Fundraising are two of our biggest priorities.
 - After reviewing the Campus Climate survey, there are several areas that stood out. Among them, issues of how faculty and staff feel they are valued, as well as conversations around gender. The survey is being reviewed and more information on the survey, the budget, and enrollment will be shared at the February 26th town hall meeting at 1 p.m.
 - Many questions remain concerning future budget cycles.
- Discussions concerning SCSU reputation, graduate programs, expectations of faculty and staff took place.

IV. Standing Committee Reports

1. Academic Policy (D. Pettigrew & D. Weiss)

- Working on the meaning of shared governance.
- Issue with "A+" vs. "A".

2. Elections (K. Kruczek)

• No report

3. Finance (W. Abdelsayed)

- Full time AAUP: \$173,973
- Part time AAUP: \$10,880
- Creative Activity: \$2,437

4. Personnel (M. Shea)

• Working on the eligibility requirements for the Promotion & Tenure committee.

- Working on the clarification of who determines a candidate's past service in the P&T and renewal process.
- 5. Rules (W. O'Brien)
 - Working on the Senate Bylaws revisions.
- 6. Student Policy (M. Nizhnikov)
 - Working on removing the inconsistencies in the student misconduct procedure.
- 7. Technology (W. Stutzman)
 - Will meet with the new CIO.
- V. Special Committee Reports
- 1. UCF (D. Weiss)
 - No report
- 2. Graduate School (E. Rhoades)
 - No report
- 3. FASP/USPaRC (D. Pettigrew)
 - No report.

VI. New Business

D. Pettigrew: Inquired about the changes to the Creative Activity research grant.
Discussion concerning fringe benefits and how they are paid took place.

VIII. Adjournment

• Meeting adjourned at 2:06 p.m.

Luke Eilderts Secretary