

FACULTY SENATE

"The Faculty Senate shall be the representative body of the faculty, deriving its authority from the faculty as per the Collective Bargaining Agreement. Its primary function shall be to serve as the agency by which the faculty can actively participate in the governance and policy-making decisions of the University on the basis of the principle of shared authority." (Faculty Senate Constitution, Section I).

President's Report to the Faculty Senate - November 1, 2017

- 1. On Wednesday 10/25 the FS Executive Committee attended a web demo on Digital Measures and its application to our P&T process. Some questions were addressed. The next step is a demo for Blackboard for the same application. This will be scheduled this semester or early next semester.
- Reminder of the University-wide Town Hall meeting on Friday, November 10, from 1-3 pm in EN A 120. This is an opportunity to discuss the unique collaboration between Housatonic/Gateway and SCSU on offering SCSCU courses and BS programs at those campuses. Please remind your department colleagues to attend and if anyone wishes to ask a question or offer a suggestion, but they can't attend, they can email me or come and see me.
- 3. The Summer sessions schedule will be:
 - Session A (5 weeks) May 21st June 24th Session B (5 weeks) June 25th – July 29th Session C (3 weeks) July 30th – August 19th
- 4. On Monday, 10/30, Dr. David A. Levine was honored and recognized as the Connecticut State University Professor, a prestigious award. Congratulations for a well deserved recognition to Dr. Levine!
- 5. Reminder of the 13th Annual Promotion and Tenure Reception on Monday, 11/6/2017 at the ASC Ballroom.
- 6. Dean Bruce Kalk had initiated a survey for faculty feedback on the re-organization of the School of Arts and Sciences. Dean Kalk will present the results to the Faculty Senate at our next meeting, 11/5/2017.
- 7. Provost Prezant has gathered the data on the impact of decreasing the enrollment caps in the writing intensive, INQ and Critical Thinking courses. He will be presenting this data to the FS Executive Committee at our meeting on Tuesday, 11/7/2017.
- 8. The last call for Elections for the All-University Committees was sent out this morning. This is to fill any committee vacancies without the School defined restrictions and for one year of service. Please submit a self-nomination or ask a colleague to do so.

| Status of AY 18 Faculty Senate Resolutions | | | | | |
|--|---|--|----------|------------------------|-----------------------------|
| Number | Date | Resolution on | For | Disposition | Comments (abbrev.) |
| F-2017-01 | Senate approved: 9/6/17 Forwarded: 9/7/17 | Resolution Regarding Necessary Modifications of the FS Promotion and Tenure Procedures Document Regarding the Evaluative Category of "Record of Disciplinary Action" | Approval | Approved 9/7/2017 | |
| F-2017-02 | Senate approved: 10/19/17 Forwarded: 10/20/17 | Resolution Regarding Renaming the Technological Teacher of the Year Award to The Will Hochman Technological Teacher Award | Approval | Approved 10/20/2017 | |
| F-2017-03 | Senate approved: 10/19/17 Forwarded: 10/20/17 | Resolution Regarding the Information Technology Help Desk Services | Approval | Disapproved | Notes posted on FS web site |
| F-2017-04 | Senate approved: 10/19/17 Forwarded: 10/20/17 | Resolution To Implement the Recommendations on Online Education | Approval | Disapproved | Notes posted on FS web site |

<u>Remaining FALL 2017 meetings</u>: November 15; and December 6.

SPRING 2018: January 24; February 7 and 21; March 7 and 28; April 11 and 25; and May 2.

FS Standing Committees

Fall 2017

Academic Policy

- 1. Knell, Michael
- 2. Pettigrew, David (co-chair)
- 3. Starling, Nichole
- 4. Weiss, Deb (co-chair)
- 5. Jim Tait
- 6. Yan Liu
- 7. Greg Robbins
- 8. Shyam Lodha
- 9. Len Brin

Elections

1. Kruczek, Klay (co-chair)

- 2. Kari Swanson (co-chair)
- 3. Jonathan Irving
- 4. Todd Schwendemann

Finance

- 1. Abdelsayed, Wafeek (chair)
- 2. Grubacic, Sanja
- 3. Islam, Mohammad "Tarik"
- 4. McGill, Ken
- 5. Raynolds, Laura

Personnel Policy

- 1. Adams, Greg
- 2. Amerman, Steve
- 3. Crawford, Sarah
- 4. Faraclas, Bill
- 5. Krol, Maria
- 6. Park, Mina
- 7. Powell, Jessica
- 8. Shea, Mike (co-chair)
- 9. Swanson, Kari
- 10. Tomczak, Stephen Monroe (co-chair)
- 11. Towle, Antoinette

Rules committee

- 1. Cochenet, Greg
- 2. Gregory, Robert
- 3. Kearns, James
- 4. O'Brien, Wes (chair)
- 5. Peter Madonia
- 6. Lisa Barbaro
- 7. Jemel Aguilar

Student Policy

- 1. Dodge, Mike
- 2. Dunklee, Jerry
- 3. Kalbfleisch, Liz
- 4. Nizhnikov, Mike (chair)
- 5. Angela Lopez-Velasquez
- 6. Larry Nye
- 7. Jonathan Wharton

Technology

- 1. Dodson, Joel
- 2. Fruehan, Parker
- 3. Latchman, Peter
- 4. Radice, Tom
- 5. Stutzman, Walter (chair)
- 6. Taylor, Derek