

FACULTY SENATE

"The Faculty Senate shall be the representative body of the faculty, deriving its authority from the faculty as per the Collective Bargaining Agreement. Its primary function shall be to serve as the agency by which the faculty can actively participate in the governance and policymaking decisions of the University on the basis of the principle of shared authority." (Faculty Senate Constitution, Section I).

President's Report to the Faculty Senate - October 10, 2018

- President Ojakian's visit to SCSU on Friday, September 28 was attended by faculty and administrators.
 President Ojakian gave a brief update on the consolidation plan, Students First, which is moving
 forward as the NEASC accreditation for the new system will be completed by 2020-2021. The CC's will
 have an academic Vice President for local campus decisions and there will be Regional Presidents
 (three or four) overseeing and managing the CCs.
 - The other topic of discussion was the white paper that will be prepared and presented to the new governor and general assembly after the elections. For this paper he is seeking input from all CSCU's. President Joe has already emailed us to submit answers to questions for our students, their needs, and challenges they face. Please ask your department colleagues to complete this survey by October 17, so that President Joe can gather all comments/suggestions and forward them to President Ojakian. The link: https://form.jotform.com/82476099158975 or the email reminder was sent out yesterday, October 9, by Patrick Dilger.
 - President Ojakian has agreed to return and address the Faculty if we wish
- 2. Monday October 1, the meeting on the Academic Year Scheduling was held and suggestions were presented. The Task Force will recommend to the Provost that we pilot the year-long schedule to assist our students in planning their education and complete it in four years.
- 3. On Tuesday, October 9, the FS Executive Committee met with President Bertolino and Provost Prezant and discussed the following items:
 - a. The reduction of the class enrollment for the Inquiry, Critical Thinking, and W classes, will continue to be monitored and will be discussed again.
 - b. The Technology Committee requested that the faculty web sites remain safe and in operation while the new web site is being rolled over. It is crucial that faculty have access to their web sites for academic and research purposes. The Provost will look into this item.
 - c. We asked the Provost to share the ratio of Full Time to Part Time Faculty for the last academic year. In addition, we asked that an updated faculty release credit report is distributed as it was done a couple years ago.
 - d. The Professional Assessment Pilot on BB9 is going on with no big issues. Senators Pettigrew and Stutzman are working closely with Ms. Mussmano and all faculty who are in the pilot program.
 - e. The Student Policy committee shared some results in their investigation of the use of SAT scores in the admissions process.
 - f. The FCA travel funds was discussed and it will be further investigated on the process of the distribution of funds.

- g. University Dialogues will be scheduled for this semester and next to allow for open dialogue (QandA) with President Bertolino soon.
- 4. Also on Tuesday, October 9, the 14th Annual Promotion and Tenure Award Celebration took place and the following colleagues were recognized:

Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor:

Siobhan Carter-David Luke Eilderts Joanne Gil Robert Gregory
Md Shafaeat Hossain Elizabeth Kalbfleisch Maria Krol Aujke Lamonica
Elaine Martin Cassie Meyerhoffer Mina Park Sebastian Perumbilly
Michael Skinner Kenneth Walters Miaowei Weng

Promotion to Associate Professor:

Ericka Barnes Miranda Dunbar

Promotion to Professor:

Corinne Blackmer Laura Bower-Phipps Sandip Dutta Mary Beth Fede Scott Graves C. Patrick Heidkamp Heidi Lockwood Kenneth McGill Cynthia Simoneau Melissa Talheim Judith Tepstra Chulguen Yang

Promotion to Coach IV:

Scott Burrell Kate Lynch

Promotion to Coach I:

Matthew Almeida Edward Bethke Stephanie Hiriak Christopher Moran

Heartfelt CONGRATULATIONS to each and every colleague!

Status of AY 19 Faculty Senate Resolutions									
Number	Date	Resolution on	For	Disposition	Comments (abbrev.)				
F-2018-01	Senate approved: 9/26/18 Forwarded: 10/8/18	Resolution Opposing the CT/BOR Policy on "Academic Program/Low Completer Review Process"	FYI	Noted 10/9/2018					

FALL 2018: October 24; November 7 and 28; and December 5.