

## **FACULTY SENATE**

"The Faculty Senate shall be the representative body of the faculty, deriving its authority from the faculty as per the Collective Bargaining Agreement. Its primary function shall be to serve as the agency by which the faculty can actively participate in the governance and policy-making decisions of the University on the basis of the principle of shared authority." (Faculty Senate Constitution, Section I).

## President's Report to the Faculty Senate – December 7, 2016

- 1. Friday, 12/2/2016 the P&T Celebration was held at the Adanti Student Center Ballroom. Many faculty were in attendance to honor our colleagues who received Tenure and Promotions. Faculty receiving Tenure: Sousan Arafeh (EDL), Charles Baraw (ENG), Kelly Bordner (PSY), Aaron Clark (MAT), Miranda Dunbar (BIO), Jess Gregory (EDL), Marie McDaniel (HIS), Marie Nabbout-Cheiban (MAT), Regine Randall (SED), Elizabeth Roberts (BIO), William Rowe (SWK), Stephen Tomczak(SWK). Faculty receiving Promotion to Professor: Amal Abd El-Raouf (CSC), Aaron Clark (MAT), Robert Forbus (MKT), Misty Ginicola (CSP), Christine Unson (PCH), Xiaomei Yang (PHI). Faculty receiving Promotion to Associate: Sousan Arafeh (EDL), Charles Baraw (ENG), Kelly Bordner (PSY), Jess Gregory (EDL), Mark Groskreutz (SED), Marie McDaniel (HIS), Marie Nabbout-Cheiban (MAT), Elizabeth Roberts (BIO), Stephen Tomczak (SWK). Coach Kelley Frassinelli received Promotion to Coach IV and Coach Joseph Van Gilder received Promotion to Coach II. A well attended event, congratulations to all honored faculty!
- 2. The Emergency Budget meeting took place on Monday, 12/5/2016, at 10 am. I wasn't able to attend but all the FS Executive Committee members were invited to attend.
- 3. The CSU Professor installation and reception for Philosophy Professor Terrell Ward Bynum was celebrated on Monday, 12/5/2016 at 1 pm at the Adanti Student Center Ballroom. Many faculty attended the installation and congratulated Professor Bynum for the well deserved recognition, congratulations!
- 4. Provost Durnin has extended an invitation for faculty to participate in the selection of students for the different scholarships. The list of scholarships was distributed with the request that you consider serving on the committee or you nominate a colleague. The suggestion is that we get two faculty per scholarship and the work load will be light. The applications will be on line, thus, the evaluations can be done electronically, with only one meeting of the committee to finalize the results.
- 5. Reminders:
  - a. Friday, December 9, 2016, at 10:30 am, in Morrill Hall, Room 108, the second open forum on the results of the marketing and brand identity research project will be presented.
  - b. President Bertolino's invitation to the University Holiday Celebration is scheduled for Monday, December 12, 1-5 pm at the ASC Ballroom.
  - c. Undergraduate and Graduate graduation ceremonies are scheduled for 2 and 7 pm respectively, on Friday, December 16.

Status of AY 14 Faculty Senate Resolutions					
Number	Date	Resolution Title	For	Disposition	Comments (abbrev.)
F-16-01	Senate approved: 11/9/16 Forwarded: 11/15/16	Resolution Regarding A New Undergraduate Catalogue Entry Pertaining To University Policy On The Reporting Of Non-Attendance Or Non-Participation To The United States Department Of Education	Approval		
F-16-02	Senate approved: 11/9/16 Forwarded: 11/15/16	Resolution On A University-Approved Stateme Inclusion In Course Syllabi On Reporting Non- Attendance Or Non-Participation To The Unite States Department Of Education			
F-16-03	Senate approved: 11/30/16 Forwarded: 12/7/16	Resolution Regarding Revisions to the Chairperson Document	Approval		

Spring 2017 meetings: Jan. 25, Feb. 8, Feb. 22, March 8, March 29, April 12, April 26, May 3.