

FACULTY SENATE

"The Faculty Senate shall be the representative body of the faculty, deriving its authority from the faculty as per the Collective Bargaining Agreement. Its primary function shall be to serve as the agency by which the faculty can actively participate in the governance and policy-making decisions of the University on the basis of the principle of shared authority." (Faculty Senate Constitution, Section I).

President's Report to the Faculty Senate - September 21, 2016

- 1. Friday September 9th, James Barber was honored with the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award. The celebration took place in the ASC Ballroom and it was attended by his many colleagues, friends, and former student athletes.
- 2. The Computer Science Department, chaired by Dr. Lisa Lancor, was recognized by the White House for their efforts to expand computer science offerings at the K-12 level. Congratulations!
- 3. The Board of Regents meeting took place at SCSU last Friday, September 16, 2016. During the meeting, Dr. Joe Bertolino was recognized by the BOR as the 12th SCSU President and he unveiled the new video "Welcome to SCSU".
- 4. Also at the BOR meeting, Dr. Terrell Ward Bynum, professor of the Philosophy department, was recognized with the prestigious faculty award of CSU Professor for his extensive and impressive professional contributions. Dr. Bynum has had a professional career at SCSU since 1987. Congratulations!
- 5. The call for nominations for the All University committees is due by noon on Monday, September 26th to Klay Kruczek, <u>kruczekk3@southernct.edu</u>. One more election needs to take place for the School Grade Appeal Committee (SGAC) as it was approved at the last Senate meeting on May 2016.
- 6. On Monday, September 26th at 1-2:30 the FS and AAUP is sponsoring an information session with the Provost, Deans, and P&T committee members. The session will be held in EN C 112. All interested faculty are invited.
- 7. The first University Dialogue with President Bertolino is scheduled for Tuesday, September 27th from 11 am 12:15pm at the ASC Ballroom. The second Dialogue is scheduled for Monday, November 21st from 1 2:30 pm at the ASC Ballroom, please mark your calendars.
- 8. Important reminder: Forum on <u>Judaism</u>, <u>Wednesday September 28, 2016 from 12 2 pm</u> at the ASC Ballroom. Please note that the Senate's Standing Committees will not meet next week so that all Senators can attend the Forum. The committees will instead meet the week after, October 5th, and the full Senate will meet on October 12th. A great big THANK YOU to the Steering committee: Michele Abrams, Corinne Blackmer, Martin Laskin, David Levine, David Pettigrew, Walter Stutzman, and Deborah Weiss, the chair of the committee.
- 9. Senators Michael Shea and Peter Madonia will represent the FS on the Budget and Planning Committee. Their names have been forwarded to Mark Rozewski.

- 10. Senators Allan Brown (SOC), David Pettigrew (PHI), Wafeek Abdelsayed (ACC), Beena Achhpal (EDU) will represent the FS on the Strategic Plan Implementation Committee.
- 11. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee:
 - ✓ Dr. David Pettigrew, Chair, Academic Policy Committee
 - ✓ Drs. Alan Brown & Klay Kruczek, Co-Chairs, Elections Committee
 - ✓ Dr. Wafeek Abdelsayed, Chair, Finance Committee
 - ✓ Drs. Michael Shea & Stephen Monroe Tomczak, Co-Chairs, Personnel Policy Committee
 - ✓ Dr. Adiel Coca, Chair Rules Committee
 - ✓ Dr. Mike Nizhnikov, Chair Student Policy Committee
 - ✓ Mr. Walter Stutzman, Chair Technology Committee
 - ✓ Dr. William Faraclas, Immediate Past President
 - ✓ Dr. Luke Eilderts, Secretary
 - ✓ Dr. Maria Diamantis, President